The Discovery of Local WordPress

The Discovery of Local WordPress

My late discovery of Local .. :D!

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

4 months ago I recently started my internship where I was tasked to clone the company's official site, and when I did my research, I was just bombarded by very complex ways of cloning an already existing WordPress website, from making use of ALL-in-One WP Migration plugin to Installing Apache, the last time I used Apache was for my Final year project back in 2019. Luckily with more digging on my part, I came across Local WordPress.

##What is Local WordPress?

Local is a desktop app that enables one to create and run WordPress websites on the local machine, before publishing the site online.

##Why make use of Local?

Local is good for people who are starting, in learning WordPress. In my case, I used it for making edits to the company's official website without doing any harm to the backend of the website.

First I created a sub-domain so the clone has a place where it can run, then cloned the site to that sub-domain using Softaculous WP then connected the site to Local and I was able to make edits on the company's cloned site, without any worry.

##Final thoughts Honestly speaking, in the past, I used to be one of those who never looked into creating sites making use of CMS or WebBuilders, because I believed it was not real web development, little did I know that some large companies have made use of WordPress for their websites. My discovering Local WP proves that I still have a lot to learn. To learn we shall!